Positive OPK came and went? Help please

mrsmay0917

Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting after lurking on here for a couple months. I have a question about OPK test strips. This is my second month TTC and using OPKS... I got a positive OPK (or so I think) yesterday on CD18 at 8AM, then I tested again that night at 5PM expecting it to be another positive and it was negative!? I don't understand. Could my surge have been that short. I did test the day before the positive and also got a negative.

My question is has anyone else experienced this? Does this mean I can still be ovulating? And do you think this test strip is positive? (see attachment) Oh, we also did BD the night of my positive OPK and plan to again for next couple days.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    43 KB · Views: 7
Did you use first morning urine for the 8AM test? With these sensitive ones, you shouldn't really be using them with FMU, as there's a higher chance of getting a false positive.

It's also possible that you had your surge just after you tested on CD17 and that you picked some of that up in the morning of CD18.

Do you take your BBT? If you really want to confirm you ovulated, that's the way to go.

I also test around 2pm. Was it the right day for you to ovulate? Last cycle I got a positive on CD14 but because I have 31-35 day periods my tracker wasn't predicting it in till CD 19...

CD15 was negative so I kept testing and CD19 and CD20 were both positive again. I think sometimes we have flucuations.