Question for Canadians - Maternity Leave Notice

jessmke

Reaction score
Hello fellow Canadians, question about maternity leave! I know that we are required to give 4 weeks notice to our employer about when we will be starting maternity leave. My question is, what happens if you give 4 weeks notice but then you just can't work up until the day you thought you could? I am a vet nurse at a very busy 24 hour animal hospital. I work 10 hour shifts, 4 days on 3 days off. I am only now coming up to 27 weeks, and I still feel good and am able to work a 10 hour shift no problem (although lately my back gets sore at the end of my four days, and hubby has been needing to give me lots of foot rubs!). I am hoping to start my maternity leave at 39 weeks, but what happens if I give my notice and then I am in too much pain or too uncomfortable to continue working that long? I am on my feet (or bum or knees!) for my entire shift, often wrestling with big dogs or angry cats, squishing myself into small spaces to do treatments on an animal without requiring the animal to move, etc. So it's a pretty physical job. If I can't work right up to my maternity leave date, do I have to take time off without pay until my maternity leave starts? On the flip side, if I come up to 39 weeks and still feel good, can I continue working right up to my due date even though I already gave notice that my leave would start? Thanks in advance for any advice!