Reaching out

HealinginVA

Reaction score
Hi everyone! This is my first time ever sharing my story on a message board, but today I decided I really need to try something new to be able to get this off my chest and try to move on with my life.

Back in December I decided to get an IUD because my husband and I decided that we weren't ready to get pregnant. A few months later I started to experience a different type of breast pain than I had ever felt before, and a few other symptoms. I wrote them off as side effects of the IUD. They kept on getting worse and a few weeks later I took several pregnancy tests, and they were positive. We made a dr appt for the following Monday and spent the weekend cycling between excitement (mostly on my husbands part) and complete panic.

We went to the appt, their pregnancy test also came back positive. They did an ultrasound and said I was probably 7 weeks along, but that there was no heartbeat and that it was likely a miscarriage. Went back for another checkup a week later, and it was confirmed. Because the IUD had to be removed, we decided to have a D and C procedure done a few days later.

To add to the medical freak that I am, I lost a ton of blood during the D and C and had to be hospitalized. I had to be put on oxygen, and a lot of pain killers. I couldn't walk for several days and had to take iron supplements and will continue to take vitamins indefinitely to make sure I don't get anemia again.

I've healed well physically- starting to get my cycle back, etc. but mentally and emotionally I'm still having a hard time. It's been about two months since this happened. I've talked to my girlfriends, my husband, my mom and sisters. They've all been incredibly supportive.