Shoulder dystocia

Discussion in 'Pregnancy - First Trimester' started by sophieloafy, Jun 7, 2011.

1. sophieloafy

sophieloafy Well-Known Member

When i had my daughter 13 months ago she got had shoulder dystocia on her way out! It took a room full of people and the midwives both hands inside of me to free her shoulder and a hell of a lot of pain, screaming and swearing!
    She came out weighing 8lbs1oz, so not too big really. Anyway, I am worried sick of it happening again. I feel sick to the pit of my stomach about it. Has anyone else had a baby that had shoulder dystocia? then gone on to have a normal delivery with any subsequent babies??

2. 5-a-side

5-a-side Well-Known Member

Hi there, I've no experience of this personally but I had a search through BnB for you and found a few threads about it.
    One is Here I've no idea if that will be of any help but I didnt want to read and not reply.
    Hopefully this will bump your post back to the top.
    Sorry I couldnt be of any more help.

3. sophieloafy

sophieloafy Well-Known Member

thanks hun x

4. crazylilth1ng

crazylilth1ng Well-Known Member

My last baby was born with shoulder dystocia... This is my first baby since so I can't say I've had a normal delivery since. It was horiffic pretty much as you described but my daughter was 9lbs 3 and very big. I'm hoping it doesn't happen again!

5. Reedy

Reedy Outnumbered x

My son had this too & wanted to know what happens with your 2nd baby as I was told it is very likely to happen again x
    I was wondering if you would be advised to have a c-sec??
    would love to hear from other mums x

6. Weebear

Weebear Well-Known Member

What about having a chat with doctors about your fears and possibly inducing a little earlier so baby is a little smaller? Not sure if this is possible or a good idea, but even to ask about it might set you at ease xx

7. Ashlee B x

Ashlee B x Teejay N Kaycie