Sigh. Took Plan B. :(

tearspawn

Reaction score
Hey ladies,

My partner had a bit of a slip up this month and so I took Plan B for the first time. It is depressing for various reasons, but it really isn't the right time for us. Anyway, I was just wondering if anyone else found themselves in this spot, and how it went.

I'm a graduate student, and stopped taking the pill about this time last year. For most of the year an accident would have been okay because I wouldn't be looking for a job yet anyway. But I'm so close to the end now I would have the baby in a financial no-man's land between school and work. Gah, I just don't want to go back on hormonal birth control, I feel a lot better without it. Taking Plan B has sucked because it reminds me of what that was like. We've got to make condoms work!

Anyway, it's hard because I've hoped for an accident for a long time, and my partner is finally talking quite freely about our plan to have a baby in the next couple years (basically as soon as I get a job). It feels more real than it has, and here I am with stupid weird Plan B cramps and sore boobs. Long sigh.

I've taken Plan B before as well. I didn't have any side effects, but still it's a sad thing to do when you long for a baby so very much.

I've had to take it a couple of times since I had my son. I also don't want to use hormonal birth control (I have a bit of paranoia that it could affect my longterm fertility).

It's not a nice feeling taking it but right now would be an awful time to be pregnant again. We live with my parents and we're saving for a mortgage so you can see why it would be awful timing.

I last took it Dec 30th. Had a bleed shortly after but am mow having an unusually long cycle so not sure what's happening!

Do you just dislike condoms or is there an allergy or..? I find they totally ruin the mood and minimise any sensation :(