Sleep Training Sucks (warning: rant ahead)

MLC20

Reaction score
I have spent the last 3 months sleep training my daughter (with guidance from professionals) and I am so sick of it. She is still waking about once a week in the middle of the night for about 2-3 hours. I'm now 20 weeks pregnant and can't see an end in sight. She needs her sleep and I need mine. It's now 1.30am and she is only just starting to drift off now after 1 1/2 hours aargh!!!!!

ah me too. We've been doing it for a month. it got better but then went back to normal. He does between2.5 and 4 hours as a first stretch then it's every 1.5, however often he never actually goes back to sleep properly, just seems to then as soon as I stArt to drift off, he's crying again. I'm 19 weeks with #2 and it is EXHAUSTING

2.25am and still up. CT125 I hope it gets better for you soon. Pregnancy doesn't make it any easier and the hormones make me frustrated a lot easier and teary.

im not an expert, but maybe at this point, it might be easier to just leave sleep training until later. i mean you try get LO back to sleep, and she probably wakes herself up more getting worked up when you're not there, meaning she's up for hours.
surely its easier to get in there and give her a drink or w/e quickly before she wakes herself right up so she can go back to sleep and so can you?

my DD is 25 months old and still wakes up twice a night on average. i learned to accept that she'll sleep through when she's ready - and at school etc and our wakeups at night only last about 20min max. and she puts herself to sleep, so i only lose about 40min of sleep a night as opposed to the hours id lose if she was getting worked up.

just my opinion ofc :) i hope it gets better.