Sudden drop in supply?

misspriss

Reaction score
Okay, I've mostly battled with oversupply. I work full time and pump at work and for a long time I either had oversupply or was working to get rid of it. I log my pumping sessions in a spreadsheet (I'm an accountant, we like spreadsheets...) so I know what my output has been historically.

I have really strived to get 8oz per day, LO takes 7.5 regularly. So far, it has consistently been 4oz/2oz/2oz (I pump 3x/day). I go so far as to even try to get half from each breast, although the right one sometimes does about 60%.

I normally pump at 8:45, 11:30, and 2:30. Monday and Tuesday I had training and could only pump during breaks at 10:30, 12:00, and 2:00, so a bit closer together but I left home an hour later so I nursed LO later. The first day of training I got 4/2/2 like normal. The second day it was 3.5/2/2, so not bad. LO was fussy and drank less that day anyway. Today, my first day back in the office, I only got 2 ounces at my first session, and that took a lot of breast compressions. I normally get 4 and am usually still producing (at least on the right side) when I quit.

I know I should not panic until the day is finished, but it is freaking me out. I have never had THIS low of output, especially since I had a low day yesterday (albeit barely low).

Hopefully my 11:30 pumping (which I am bumping to 11:00 in case I have to squeeze in 4 sessions) will be better. Any causes for a drop in supply like that? We cosleep and he nursed at night like usual. I hope AF is not coming back...

Okay. Mild Freakout over. I knew I shouldn't panic so early on. Got 4 ounces at noon, so I'm up to where I should be at 6 ounces by this time of day. I just pumped extra long with lots of compression and massage, I think I got a second let down. In addition to massage/compression, I also decided to not pay any attention to it (sounds hard, I know!) :)

Sounds like you need to replace your membranes. Have you done that recently?