Temping question?

athena87

Expecting #2
Reaction score
I've been temping for about 5 months. My pre ov temps are usually 96.2-96.8(my thyroid is fine by the way, just have low temps) but today my temp dropped to 95.57. Should I be concerned? I took it 3 times to be sure then used my old bbt and it was the same on there.

My Ovulation Chart

:hi: That is very low. You're right to know low temps can sometimes be related to thyroid problems, but some people just have lower temperatures as well. I'm glad your thyroid is good. :thumbup: Some women (myself included) have temps in the 96s and low 97s before ovulation and then they go to the mid-high 97s and sometimes 98s after ovulation.

I would think it might just be an odd temp. However, continue to monitor it and you may want to consider talking to a doctor if it continues to be that low.

You may know most/all of the following information but I want to make sure just for the sake of helping you! :hugs:
1. Do you temp at the same time every day? It's the most reliable if you do.
2. Do you take it without getting up or doing anything before taking it? It's best if you don't do anything before taking it.
3. Do you breathe with your mouth open when you sleep? That could cause the lower temps. That's why some women temp vaginally.
4. Have you been using the same thermometer throughout the months?
5. Do all of your charts look the same?

I assume since you used two different thermometers that it was accurate, but it still makes me question the thermometers and the method.