Too soon for gender??

wheelz23

Reaction score
Hello everyone. There is a freelance ultrasound studio (has great reviews) that takes ultrasounds for gender 14 weeks + (they do NOT tell us that it will be easy either and that it might be a few tries before they can really tell)
So, that being said. I am only 9w4d, and I know that is TOO soon. Personally I think 14 weeks is too soon, but my birthday is on week 16. I was just curious, how accurate would a 16 week scan be? I don't want to get told the wrong gender... My doctors office waits until 20-22 weeks, so I guess what I really want to know is should I just wait for the 20-22 week scan? This is my first baby, so I am just learning all this.

Thanks!

My MW tried to see when I was 13w6d. Looked like lines (vulva) for a quick moment, but the cord quickly slipped between the legs, and we lost the view. Darn it! So, we aren't convinced of any sex... but my MW is really good at sex determination. :) I found out at 16 weeks the last time at a routine visit, but it's a lot easier to tell early when there's a penis, as the vulva can still be swollen and look similar in early weeks. :) It was definitely obvious. I'd go for it!

16 is about the earliest any normal place would attempt to tell you. You do hear of sonographers being able to spot particularly boy bits at 12-13 weeks (happened with my nephew) but I would imagine there was a very high rate of error here (in fact he didn't even tell my sister it was a boy, just said he thought he knew but wouldn't say so early, then at 20 weeks he said yep knew it was a boy).

The general consensus is that you're much more likely at any point to get a false "girl" answer, as if they definitely see a penis it can be very unequivocal! But I will be waiting until as late as possible, at least 18 weeks, if I do decide to find out, because it's not accurate enough for me before then.