TTC first time. LH and HCG - A little confused with so much information. Any Advice?

lizziejane87

Reaction score
Hi,

Completely new to this so apologies if this is in the wrong forum.

Me and my husband have decided to try to conceive and have been doing so for a few months. Its a little harder as I do not regular periods and haven't for some years so I am finding OPKs a little confusing. I have tested 10days after my last cycle and it showed LH but no full spike (or i missed it). I have sinced had lots of cramping and thought perhaps I had conceived. I am now due and took a HCG test and it is negative, I just checked OPK again due to my cycle and there is LH detected again (I did 2 and they were the same).

Just wondered any ideas on this. Can you ovulate more than once a cycle and near your cycle due date?

Thank you so much for any advice in advance,

xx

Sorry your cycles are confusing you, mine do that to me also. Im not a pro at that by any means but I wanted to give you what I know, or think I know.

No you can not ovulate twice in the same month, you can release 2 eggs a day apart but thats not considered ovulating twice. However you can and most do get more then 1 LH surge, which is just an estrogen surge. I have read several posts about women getting a secong surge after confirmed ovulation.
Are you only testing for ovulation once a day, I have to test several times a day, I almost missed my LH surge this month. Tested at 6pm and got a negative, but at 10pm I got a very clear positive, and then at 9am the next morning it was back to negative. So it is very easy to miss your surge completly.
Also when AF is due we have extra estrogen on our bodies so I would think its somewhat common to get an LH surge.

Good luck