Upset with Midwife at 28 wk appoinment

neeemes

Reaction score
I know this is a bit of a rant and probably totally over reacting. Im 28 weeks pregnant, healthy and had a good pregnancy up to know suffering with either a bit of PGP or syatica (midwives are giving conflicting diagnosis!)

Anyway, had the check up yesterday and midwife asked when i was giving up work. I told her that i am planning to work up to the due date. I am a police officer but am on light duties and stuck in the office in the day so its not a stressful job! she had a right go at me saying I was silly to work up to that date and that I had to rest and i was only going to get worse with the problems of PGP/syactica towards the later stages of pregnancy. I am feeling absolutley fine at the moment and me and hubby have discussed if i feel i cant go into work then i will stop nearer the end and get signed off sick.

then she and the student midwife attempted to get blood from me, both missed the veins so i ended up like a pin cushion and have to see the nurse next week for her to have a go! I felt a bit gidy having needles stuck in me so she told me to put me head between my legs and take deep breaths to stop me keeling over and said it was good practice for contractions. Hubby was there with me and refered to them as Surges - as we are doing hypno birthing - her response "whatever" :dohh:

she just seemed so negative about everything. has anyone else had a bad experience with a midwife or been told off for wanting to stay at work as long as possible??

naomi

Aww honey. I've experienced the same with my consultant! I've got a history of high bp (under control with meds, touch wood) and when I was about 28 weeks, she asked when I was finishing and I said 37 weeks and she snorted and laughed at me and said that was ridiculous.