Varying LP length...

Kyliem87

Mummy of 1 Princess
Reaction score
Anyone had or have a varying LP length?

I've been tracking my cycles for the last 3 months using OPK's and CM/O signs (I can't temp because I wake up often in the night and don't get near the recommended time of sleep nor wake up at the same time)

1st cycle 27 days LP 12 days
2nd cycle 30 days LP 14 days
3rd cycle 30 days LP 11 days

I'm going to make an appointment with my GP just to talk things through but I'm getting so confused and fed up :(

:flow:

Usually LPs are a constant number of days...if your cycle length varies, it is due to your ovulation being early/late. OPKs will narrow down your ovulation day, but won't tell you the exact day it is happening the way charting does....they really just aren't that reliable since they are dependent on too many factors (time of day they are taken, number of tests taken during the day, amount of fluids you have been drinking, amount of dye in the test). The same with cm and cp....it's definitely not exact! My guess is that your LPs really are the same length and that you may be a little off with the days you think you're ovulating on.

My LP has been irregular lately but thats because im stil breastfeeding. Its hard to be sure of when you o without temping. If you're worried go to your doc and see what they suggest

Mine is weird too, I have an ultrasound Friday to see if I'm ovulating at the right time frame.

Thanks ladies I'm going to book with my doc and find out what is happening :flow:

You can try temping first, maybe your ovulation was on different days than you thought?

When i temp for 3 months, my LP was 14 days, 14 days and then 13 days.

While i have been using only OPK's its varied between 13 and 15 days. But i have noticed FF doesnt get my O exactly as i think as it guessing with only using OPK's so i am actually thinking of going back to using a BBT. Good luck