video monitor?

KarenN

Reaction score
I got the Avent baby monitor from a friend of the family, but I had my eye on a monitor with a camera. It's not cheap, and we already have a monitor, so my guy thinks we really don't need it, and I'm letting my fears get the best of me.
Is this really too much?

I feel I'll be more calm and secure if I could see my girl when I'm not around. But I'm also worried that I'm just feeding my anxieties and obsessing.

Truth is I'm worried I'll just stare at the screen instead of resting or doing other stuff. I'm not sure if this is a good or a very bad idea :-k It's my first time and I'm confused.

We got a video monitor and havent had to use it yet.
Have you looked for a 2nd hand one on ebay to save costs?

I purposefully did not get a video monitor.. It would drive me nuts! :)

I have 1 and i thinks its great, at first i didnt really use it coz she was in her basket then in our bedroom, but now its great because she can move around and mess up her cot and get herself into situations like her cot bumper over her head! so i can check on her from downstairs or if im home alone in the shower, but once she is asleep i turn it off...they are pretty expensive so have a look around for a second hand one, but if you dont get one i dont think it would worry you to much.

We have a video monitor and I love it. It is nice to be able to watch her sleep but the novelty of looking at it all the time does wear off.

The reason I like it is that I can actually see whether she is sleeping or not. I can check how long it takes her to drop off and whether she is waking regularly or sleeping soundly. I can also see when she wakes so I know when to go in and wake her up. As a result, she doesn't cry when she wakes, she knows if I come in and get her its time to get up but if I don't she knows to settle herself back to sleep.