What do you think about getting married right after high school in my situation?

L

Laschai

We would be getting married on our 4 year anniversary (we started dating when I was a freshman), I'll be 18, he'll be 19.

We've been talking about getting married seriously since we had been dating maybe 5 months. He first mentioned it a little over 2 weeks after we started dating...

I really love him and I know he loves me (seriously, you should see how he looks at me... it makes me want to cry happy tears... ok sometimes I actually do...)

My mom thinks we shouldn't get married until I'm at least 24, her general rule is 25, so she's bending by saying 24...

I'm not very religious but I do think marriage is sacred... I know it shouldn't be rushed into, and we've talked a lot about what we plan to do for college and jobs. We haven't decided which colleges to go to, but there are a lot of state colleges in my state, so we have options.

We're thinking we'll each have part-time jobs in college, and he'll work full-time while I'm in medical school. Then we'll have kids during my medical residency (we both want kids, a LOT) and of course once I finish, residency is 4 years, not forever.

I know the divorce rate is high amongst young marriages... I just really want to stand in front of my friends and family and say how much I love him... I get teary-eyed when I read sample vows sometimes....

I just really think we have a good chance...

We haven't started planning a wedding yet, so it's not a "having doubts" situation.

Opinions?

Me and oh got together when we were 17&18 and married at 24. This was right for us as personally leaving school and going to university changed our relationship. We've been together so long we've grown up together but your early 20s are a time that you can change a lot and make important decisions. School is like a bubble and leaving home and having responsibilities changes your perceptions.