What is my bump made of??

Discussion in 'Pregnancy - Second Trimester' started by gills8752, Aug 31, 2009.

1. gills8752

gills8752 Mum of 2 Girl

Hiya All, I'm a newbie here, just gone 16 weeks with my first. Took 4 years to conceive so we are really excited.
    My tummy's started to firm up and push out a little bit where the baby actually is but the rets of my tummy above has already formed a lovely bump. Now what actually classes as your bump? I've ever wondered it before now obviously and for some reason just thought the baby formed the whole bump but it doesn't does it?? :wacko: lol This baby has got me thinking far too much on what my bump actually is!
    What does everyone else's bump feel like? Can you feel just baby or is the top of your bump the rest of the contents of your insides :lol: ??

XX

2. MissRhead

MissRhead Well-Known Member

Yep as your uterus grows and rises up it pushes everything eles up with it :) And huge congrats btw! O and welcome :D xxxx

3. purpledahlia

purpledahlia Mummy

hello and welcome! and congrats!

yup baby takes up bump, all your organs are squished above around behind and everywhere,

4. gills8752

gills8752 Mum of 2 Girl

Ah well, will have to wait for my real bump to appear. I feel like a fraud until I get one! AND it feels like Ive been pregnant ages with no bump. I can't wait! :happydance:

5. Boomerslady

Boomerslady Well-Known Member

I've found the bit at the top, between boobs & belly button is all your organs squished up. Which is why we suffer heartburn etc as your stomach is all squished!

The bit below the belly button is the LO....at my stage anyway.....I'm hoping as time progresses it'll round out fully.

6. Dream.A.Dream

Dream.A.Dream Mum to 6yo and WTT #2!

I wondered this too, I have a definite bump but I know at my stage most of it isn't baby xx

7. Noodles

Noodles Mummy to two boys!

8. gills8752

gills8752 Mum of 2 Girl

ooh now that's a useful picture!