When to come of BCP before TCC

Discussion in 'Waiting To Try' started by Pinkgirl, Apr 9, 2009.

1. Pinkgirl

Pinkgirl Well-Known Member

Hey Ladies just a question really.

When do you think is the best time to come off BCP before TCC.
    I have been on them for a few years so thinking i should give my body at least 6 months???? on not being on them before me and OH TTC.

What do you ladies think?

2. Dream.A.Dream

Dream.A.Dream Mum to 6yo and WTT #2!

Asap really, can take a long time for your cycles to settle. Mine have been a bit messed up for at least 7 months xx

3. kate.m.

kate.m. Mummy to Travis

Hiya,
    Im not an expert, but i heard it was about 6 months too!

4. Vesta

Vesta Mum of 1. WTT #2

I asked my doctor about this last month, when I went for a repeat perscription for the pill. I've been on it for 6 years but she said there was no need to wait. We can start TTC as soon as I've come off the pill.

5. babyblog

babyblog Well-Known Member

There's no reason why you can't get pregnant straight away-the moment u stop u are the most fertile, then it cam drop for up to a year. I came off it in Nov 07 and my cycles were back to normal one year later, i got my BFP in March, my friend thought she would just come straight off it, but her periods have stopped so she doesn;t know if she is ovulating yet or not.Come off it, give your body a break and then start TTC i would say!

6. MaryJ

MaryJ Mom of 1 soon to be 2!

DO NOT believe that the coming off the pill means it's going to take you 6 months to conceive. DON'T come off it till your ready. Danny Boy is living proof that it doesn't always take very long to get knocked up. He was conceived a month later. We were planning on 6 months before I would be fertile again.

7. calm

calm Well-Known Member