When to Inseminate with One Vial

PinkLuv24

Reaction score
Hello-
I'm new to this and my first cycle with using an Ova Cue Monitor to help pinpoint my exact day of ovulation, and plan to test with an OPK to confirm. I will be using one vial of unwashed, frozen ICI sperm at home, unassisted. My question is when to inseminate? Most of the info I have seen says 12 hours after + OPK but I feel nervous bc I've never had any luck with using them (no positives even though I know I ovulate) so any experience/advice on when to inseminate with one vial of ICI? Thanks so much in advance!

I would do it 24hours after positive opk and maybe 36 hours. Iui is typically done 36 hours after positive opk/trigger.

Is this sperm you froze or received from a bank?

It is frozen from bank and I only have one vial to do it in one shot! Maybe it would be better to wait a month and get two vials! I'm feeling impatient and like most everyone am hoping it works the first time! Thanks for the input!

Maybe with two you could do it 24 hours then 36 hours post.
Hopefully others with experience chime in. Good luck!

Since your doing insemination with ICI vial I would use it the day of or within 24 hours of your + OPK as long as you have fertile CM the sperm can wait on the egg for several hours. inseminating vaginally they will need time to swim into the uterus and find the egg just like with intercourse.:dust:

Thanks! Any input is helpful....I'm new to this and cost is definitely a factor when going this route. I've just never had any positive OPK's....has anyone had luck with one vial on the first try? Advice/experience? Thanks in advance!

I would personally do it as soon as you get a +
An egg only survives for around 12 hours once released and ideally you need mature sperm ready and waiting in the tubes.
Sperm can take a few hours to get to the tubes and then another 12-24 hours to mature before it can enter the egg.