Ziplining while pregnant?!

CassieSims

Reaction score
Hi all! Today I am 6+1 days pregnant and I just arrived in Hawaii yesterday! Having already crossed scuba diving, hot tubs, and anything unpasteurized off my list my curiosity is now on ziplining.

I'm going today with my entire family whom I'd rather not include in the joy of this pregnancy, but if I don't go ziplining it's a dead giveaway that I'm pregnant. I really want to go and was wondering if anyone knew if it was safe in the first trimester? I am a fairly curvy woman so there's ample cushioning for my little rainbow, but I'm just not sure.

Anyone know if it's safe?

I'm not an expert, but my guess is that if it's a typical, smooth zipline, you'd be fine. The only thing I might be concerned about is the stop. I know some of the ziplines I've been on have a kind of jarring stop. You might just ask about that on the sly or something. I don't think a jarring stop alone would cause problems, but that's the only thing I can think about that would be a negative. Have fun!

I would call ahead and ask a lot of places won't let you because they don't want the liability if something goes wrong or hell a zip line breaks and you fall. Not to be a Debbie downer but call and ask the company they will tell you if they say you can't just fake a migraine or something so that your family is unaware. Just an idea hope you get to go, I know the one here told me no :(

Yeah I would ring ahead and ask. Saying that one of the women in the feb hearts group did a skydive a couple of weeks ago and she is completely fine :thumbup:

Finally got ahold of my doctor, she said as long as I am sensible about braking and handle my landings carefully, I should be fine.

I'm going ziplining ladies! And so is my little rainbow!

yeah i wouldnt worry about ziplining
i went skydiving at 10+2 (now 11+4) and the fetus is just fine
always hear a strong heartbeat on my doppler at home
the parachute opening and the landing is very smooth actually