A probably stupid question about carrycot part of pram...

shelx

Mummy to 2 gorgeous boys
Reaction score
We didnt have the carry cot part last time so im new to this.

I assumed some way that Baby would be strapped in when lying flat? :wacko:

The reason im asking this is because while out in town yesterday i seen 2 very small babies in separate prams, not strapped in?? I noticed the first as her mum was going up a step at the time and i thought wow.. What if she slides down? Babies both had no blankets on as it was warm which is how i could see.

Sorry if im being dumb :haha:

I'm a ftm so not there yet but I know when I take my goddaughter out in hers she's not strapped in and she doesn't tend to slip around.

Most carrycots do have the anchor parts for a seperate harness if preferred. My mum used to always strap us in using a 5 point harness when out and about, prams are not unknown to collapse or turn over so better safe than sorry xx

The carrycot on our m&p pram doesn't have straps. I've not seen any of the traditional flat ones that do. DD1 never slid around in it. I wouldn't take it up steps though.

I don't think my oyster carry cot comes with straps? I was thinking about it the other day!

No need for straps if you're being careful, but I definitely wouldn't be taking it up steps with a carrycot attached and baby not strapped! My Matrix Light 2 carrycot/carseat comes with straps, but I wont be strapping him in when it's on the pushchair, I don't go far though so it's not a big issue for me.

My pram also does not have straps....
https://i1354.photobucket.com/albums/q693/sue_881/EA1AA3B8-DC5C-4885-9CBE-0874CE4BF702-1453-000003653AC8B871_zpsc008c65d.jpg