Advent calendars

Phantom

Mommy
Reaction score
What advent calendars is everyone getting?

Normally I get toy Advent calendars. I was considering a science one for ds, hot wheels for my youngest and mini stuffies for dd1. But I'm torn this year because I wonder if getting a wooden one with drawers and filling it with different candies each night might be better in terms of less clutter. I've never done it before. Is it silly to do candy so close to Halloween? My kids usually get a ton of Halloween candy.

I quit buying advent calendars after we had our 3rd kid. It just cost too much and we ended up with little trinkets/toys that they never took care of or lost. So I made an advent calendar with fabric. I cut cute fabric into half circle shapes, glued two pieces together to make a pocket, strung them together with twine, and drew numbers on each pocket with a Sharpie. The last day is a fabric bag so it can hold something a bit bigger. I hang it along the wall or over a doorway and our Elf on the Shelf brings the treats for the pockets when she comes back from her nightly visit to whisper in Santa's ear. :winkwink: I found it was easiest to fill each pocket the night before otherwise, the whole thing gets too heavy and falls down. (This also prevents my kids from sneaking peeks at the upcoming pockets..Which they totally did too.)