Amount of detergent

jms895

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I know we all use different stuff, 2 in 1, non bio, soap nuts etc....

But how much do you use? Ie: table spoon, cup etc..... I am not good at actual measuring! I am wondering if I am using too much or not enough :rofl:

Note i always use a bit of Napisan in a pre wash or Soda crystals (one spoon) every so often in drawer. Also essential oils in softener drawer.

I use Bold2in1 which suggests 95ml for soft water areas, so I use a 25ml measure (that's 1 2/3 tablespoons).

I'd say it's not very helpful for people to give actual amounts unless you know they use the same stuff as you with the same size load, cos for example I use Persil small and mighty which is a concentrated one but I'd use more liquid if I was using the non-concentrate and I'd use less if I was putting a smaller load in, ifysim?

I use about a quarter of the amount recommended on the bottle/box for a full load of nappies. Basically I always use the smallest amount I can that still gets the nappies clean.

I use non bio tablets- not gel ones... And I used 1/3 or a 1/2 of a tablet depending on size of load xx

When I used Ariel or Bold 2-in-1 powder, I used 1 tablespoonful for what was usually about 1/2 a load of nappies.

I keep hearing Bold 2 in 1 is great but thought you were not supposed to use non-bio and no softener? x

thats what I thought but I bought it anyway..hahaha

Non-bio is fine if you find it works for you. Some people find it doesn't get rid of stains but it works for lots of people and it's better for baby's skin. Softener is not good unless it's clay based. Most are oil based softeners which clog up the nappies but Bold 2 in 1 is a clay based softener so it's fine. It's the only one I know of that's ok.

Thanks, I want to try it as everyone says it smellls sooooo nice! I just use napisan and non bio at mo and they dont really smell of anything unless I use oils x