any full-time EPers?

BrandyBestPal

Reaction score
Hi everyone :flower:

I'm looking for support from others who EP.

A little about my situation... When dd was born, she latched right away, I thought things were going to be great with bfing. I successfully bf dd1 for 11 months. Well, things didn't work out had I had hoped this time around. Once milk came in, dd2 would latch, but wouldn't suck. We had a dehydration scare and we were in the hospital overnight for jaundice. During that time, I pumped to provide nourishment. Since then, I've invested is a really good pump, and pump after every feeding.

I find it real really time consuming... Especially in the eevenings and overnight. The day is hard, too, because I also have a toddler to entertain.

How do you do it? Any tricks of the trade to share? How have you managed to cope? Dd will be 2 weeks old on Friday. So I'm just starting out and it feels like I have a long way to go :wacko:

With my DS he didn't take to bf ( refused breast after overactive let down kept chocking him) pumping exclusively wasn't easy and involved me using a double pump (one handed) and feeding a baby at the same time sometimes.

I don't know what advise I can offer you other than learning to pump two breasts one handed is helpful!

Thanks for the reply.

I've been using the swing and hoping dd doesn't start screaming her head off. But you're right, I need to practice using one hand so I can use the other to tend to the kids!

I would hold one pump with my hand (across my body) abd the other would be supported by the arm that's across. If that makes sense!

Hats off to you doing it with a toddler too that's something I wasn't even going to attempt this time around.