Bit of a long shot. Re: non-English speaking children in school

Desi's_lost

baby girl,boy and me
Reaction score
My OH's sister is 7. She came over from Vietnam last winter and speaks very little English.
The school she's going to wants to just push her through classes even though she can't understand. She comes home with homework that my OH has to try to explain to her. Concepts like rounding in math that he doesn't know how to teach. His Vietnamese is fairly rough. His dads English is very rough. I've been trying to help come up with creative ways to explain it that he can do. But she's a little girl and its confusing for her.

Does any one have any experience or suggestions in what the world to do?

Aw poor hun :( I'm an ESL teacher and I've dealt with situations like this before. Is she attending ESL classes as well, or has she been pushed right into the regular stream?

It's a bit of a myth that kids can just absorb new languages (especially as they get older), it exists because they can develop the language without an accent which people mistake for 'perfect English'.

What I would recommend, and this is sort of "out there", is contacting via phone a 'language school' in Vietnam (her dad can phone), and they will be able to guide him or sell him some bilingual materials that will help her. I would, at this time, focus on helping her understand simple instructions (read this, follow that, add this). She is going to be behind for a while, and she may need some outside counseling to cope with this. 7 is a sensitive age :(