Can anyone recommend a book on newborns or babies?

ltrip84

Mom and pregnant
Reaction score
I'm embarrassed to admit that even though I have always wanted children, I have no experience with them. I have never even changed a diaper (I'm sure I can figure it out)! I was wondering if anyone can recommend any books on babies and how to care for them, symptoms to recognize, certain age milestones they should meet, etc. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

The Dr. Sears Baby Book is fantastic. It's literally like 2000 pages (okay, I don't really know but it's about 5 inches thick). But honestly, you really don't need a book. You'll figure it out as you go. As long as you make sure your baby is fed, dry, warm and cuddled lots, there's really no harm you can do while you learn. I had almost no experience with babies before I had one. I'd only held or changed one a few times. Had no idea how to give a bath or anything else. But you just do it. The Dr. Sears book is great to have as a reference and I've definitely looked up a couple things when I was curious what was normal or what to expect at certain milestones or needed some reassurance, but I would have been fine without it too. Talking to other mums is a great resource as well, especially if you can find a small group who share similar perspectives on parenting as you.

I have one called 'What to expect the first year' or something like that, can't remember offhand who the author is but it's very good

I'd never changed a nappy, or ever even held a baby but it really is true when they say it all comes naturally!

You'll know what works for your baby by intuition, books can be negative when you come across something that your LO is doing different, or not quite rolling/sitting/crawling when the books 'say'.

I'd say wait until baby is here, watch some YouTube vids in the meantime and see if you need extra literature after D Day.

:flower: