can your 4 year old swim?

fluffpuffin

Reaction score
I guess I'm after some reassurance if sorts. Isla has only started swimming lessons a few weeks ago and seems very much a beginner with slow progress. It seems most kids can already swim at 2 or 3 years old and isla is the odd one out and quite behind.

When did your kids start swimming lessons and how soon did you notice progress?

Eldest never had lessons, she was self taught in the water with the exception of lessons when she started high school, so long after she was swimming confidently.

Middle one wouldn't go to lessons until he was 9, but he didn't get on in the group lessons so I took him out - he is 11 and still can't swim.

Youngest had lessons at 3/4 and hated it so I took her out. She is 5 (just) and can't swim but I am looking to start her again in the summer, as I aam my middle one

I started Jason at 4, Alex at 6 and Lydia at 8.

Jason did 6 lessons and did nothing other than walk so we gave up. I'll try him again when he's older.

Alex and Lydia took to it fine and are still having lessons.

I don't think they need to be SO young to start the lessons. Sometimes waiting until they're a bit older is better.

Earl turned 5 in October. He's never had lessons and still can't swim. We do go relatively regularly and I'd like to go more. We will probably start him in lessons next year or the year after but I plan on us going every couple of weeks to build up his confidence. It's not that he's shy or anything but I think the group lessons would be a bit much for him atm.

Omar turned 5 in November and still can't swim, we took him for lessons at school but they taught them nothing. We're planning to start swimming classes in Summer

Eta: he can swim with a noodle and armbands with no issues and he is not scared of water