Does anyone have a gifted child?

Warby

Mom of four monkey-moos
Reaction score
I am pretty sure that my almost 7 year old son meets diagnostic criteria for giftedness. He has not been formally assessed, but I am a special education teacher with a lot of experience in examining psycho-educational assessments and with what qualifies as giftedness.

It's not the label/diagnosis that I am concerned about; he is being challenged in his school program so that is all good.

He exhibits several behavioural concerns that seem to be related to giftedness (specifically, to his brain depleting the body's supply of glucose). I wondered if there are any other parents of gifted children who sometimes struggle with their child's behaviour- would love to chat about successful strategies.

Hey if you'd like to message me I can. I have a 4 year old whose considered gifted and will be attending a gifted children program at a charter school next year for kindergarten.

I was dual coded growing up as well as gifted and had ADHD so I have some insite.

What kind of signs do you notice that signify his body is being depleted of glucose due to his brain? *curious*

It is a bit hard to describe, but I notice that he has "crashes". He will be perfectly fine, cooperative, happy, and then there is a fast shift. He becomes cranky, belligerent, very sensitive to thinks like clothing tags and sock seams, and can't seem to calm himself down.

It is not JUST this behaviour that makes me think he is gifted. I know that lots of kids have these "crashes" when they get hungry or tired. Lately I have been prompting him to eat a high protein snack when I notice him getting a bit cranky and it seems to be a good strategy.

Like I said, I am not suggesting that he is gifted because of these behaviours. I don't want to get into his academic achievements because it would just sound like bragging.