Does tandem nursing cause cavities?

Brieanna

Reaction score
I am currently nursing my 2.5 year old and newborn. I know that cavities are caused by the bacteria strep mutans and the presence of things like sugar and not breastmilk alone.

I am unsure if dd has strep mutans but want to be extra careful because my OH and everyone on his side of the family has horrible teeth (they brush and floss etc, it's genetic). I'm going to try and avoid cup, straw, utensil-sharing, but know that bacteria exchange is pretty inevitable, but would like to avoid it as long as possible.

Does anyone know if I nurse dd then later nurse ds on the same breast if this will pass on the bacteria IF dd does indeed have it? If it will, is there anything I can do to avoid this? I know that washing with soap and water will dry out my already sore nipples. Would just rinsing with water between nursing be enough? Obviously I can't sterilize my nipples, lol.

Thanks!

Hi Hun im a dental nurse, never heard of the possibility before and until ur lo has teeth, the decaying process isn't possible at all xx

I think that passing germs between siblings is totally inevitable, and if I were you I wouldn't worry too much about it. They will share spoons, fingers, cups, etc. I think your best bet is to practice and teach proper oral hygiene in order to prevent cavities :)

Edit: Cavities usually occur due to numerous factors. Other things you can do are limit sugar, get enough calcium, brush after meals, etc.

Hi Hun im a dental nurse, never heard of the possibility before and until ur lo has teeth, the decaying process isn't possible at all xx

I'm a dental hygienist, and I'm going to completely disagree with this.

Most babies get strep mutans/oral bacterial composition from their parents in the very early ages if life via kissing, utensils, licking off a dropped pacifier, etc. The presence of teeth only allows for the decay to begin, it doesn't change that the bacteria are already present.