first pregnancy + home birth?

purplepeenut

Reaction score
Hi everyone :) I'm 15 + 3 weeks pregnant and I'm very passionate about having a natural birth and I don't want any interventions at all. I was planning on having a natural birth in the hospital but have since realised that it is going to be impossible to have it how I want it. From reading some birth stories I'm very excited about having my bub at home :D The problem is that other then attending the birth of my niece, I have no experience with childbirth! This is my first pregnancy and I'm feeling very overwhelmed. I haven't discussed homebirth with my OH but he's already agreed I make all the decisions in this case :thumbup: Of course he'll be suprised to learn I'm thinking about doing it in our room :haha: He has less experience then me so I know he is going to be very nervous!!

I'm 23, have a healthy BMI, no health problems and so far my pregnancy has been perfect. Very low risk. My baby is probably going to be very large due to family history and genetics. We are a tall bunch and my baby was measuring a week ahead on ultrasound at 13 weeks. Looking at my partner (who is nearly 7 foot and the same as all the men in my family also) the tech said it was probably genetics. My GP has already mentioned I might need a c-section (with an obvious glance at my partner) because even thought I'm tall I have very small bone structure and narrow hips :dohh: I don't want a c-section at all!!

My question is would you recomend a home birth to a first time Mum?? If so what can I do to prepare for it mentaly etc? Will having a bigger baby be riskier/harder to birth at home? Is home birth as risky as doctors like to say? How long can you be overdue before it's safer for your baby to be induced? Any advice at all would realy help! even telling me your personal experiences

YES! :D

https://www.homebirth.org.uk/firstbaby.htm