First time mum needs help with teenager.

DGsGirl

Reaction score
Im still new to the posting world of BnB but thought i would post something out here and hopefully get some help.

I am a new mum to a 3 month old DD and as of a month ago we (DB and i) have taken my SIL in due to issues at her moms place. My SIL is 14 and is like any typical teenager with the attitude and not really wanting to do anything but wanting everything her way and everything she wants. I well admit it that she was a little spoiled at her moms place. Her mom is a single mom that cant put her foot down and the dad only steps in when he wants to be the good guy and buy her things to get her love:wacko:. There is an age difference between my SIL and DB of almost 11 years, so growing up he has tried to be the "father figure" in her life but was hard because he didnt really live at home and was working out of town lots.

I just feel that i need some advice on how to deal with a teen. Issuse like chores, homework (failing half her classes), do i need to have the talk with her about sex. Is there any other issues that i should be watching out for with her?

I'd just give her lots of love. Encourage her to invite friends over for the afternoon and set a curfew for when she needs to be home. Make yourself available to talk and help with homework.

Personally, I'd treat her like I would my child.

I would firstly try to establish a relationship with her. I'm not sure how well you know each other or get along but I would focus on getting to know her, figuring out what motivates her and establishing the boundaries and rules of your relationship.

I'd only talk to her about sex if it becomes a concern, like if it's something that she brings up or if you see that she's obviously involved with someone.