Gaining too much too fast

Bella12

Reaction score
My midwife was not concerned about my weight gain at last appointment but I am a little. I started out at 94 pounds and I'm 5ft 2 inches. I'm presently 15 weeks and have already gained 12 pounds. All of my apps say my weight gain is excessive. I eat fairly healthy and I'm a special education teacher which means I'm usually doing laps around my building providing my students with movement breaks or chasing them after a melt down.

Anybody else put on a lot of weight early on?

I'm tiny so when my body is starving, I eat. I just try to make it healrhy. I was told my past miscarriages was due to low bmi.

Hoping I'm not the only one who put on a lot early on.

I'm 16 weeks and I've put on ten pounds. My Dr says it's totally fine but I can't help but think of my last pregnancy when I gained 45 pounds. Even then my Dr said that was fine too as I was underweight to start. Seems like the skinnier you are the more you gain.

That's right, the lower your bmi the more you need to gain. Your body has no reserves and baby will take what it needs regardless. You'll likely loose 80% of it as soon as you give birth and the rest while bf-ing. This is my second pregnancy and at 17 weeks I've gained 11 pounds. But I started at a bmi of 23 so I have less to gain as I have lots if reserves for babies and I:haha: Sometimes you go through hormone surges, especially in second tri, that make you more hungry. Some women are often sick or exhausted in first tri, third tri there's no rom for food and eating needs to be very small amounts frequently, second tri there's room for food still and babies go through major growth spurts. Hope that helps xx