hello all !!

mamichulo5

mom x 4 + 1(coming)
Reaction score
I am new to this section.. but I have a question: I have an 13 yr. old son he is very smart but very quiet. He just started junior high school and now he is very socially awkward and because of this his grades are suffering..never had this problem before. He used to be an all A student in elementary ( he was there from kdg. to 6th)and now his grades have plummeted. DH and I went up to the school for PT conference and found out that he never talks or ask questions, even when he doesn't understand or hear what was said.I am not sure what has happened since he has gotten there( outside of school he is still the same person) but as far as school goes he has changed. How can I help him get over thinking he will be bullied for being smart or asking questions, I am at a lose here and don't know what to do.Hopefully I can get some helpful advice before this gets out of hand...thank you

Hard one. We actually switched dd to a private school in grade 6 when it started to become obvious that if we kept her in the current school path, she would not do as well (she's smart and was socially awkward because she's smart). One of the best decisions we made. We basically found a school that fit her. It worked out very well for her.

DH saw this one, and he replied:
If it's a general fear, then it's easier to address, I think, but if it's someone in particular then it could be harder.
but, in general, I think mildly violent and athletically demanding extracurricular activities help.

Hard one. We actually switched dd to a private school in grade 6 when it started to become obvious that if we kept her in the current school path, she would not do as well (she's smart and was socially awkward because she's smart). One of the best decisions we made. We basically found a school that fit her. It worked out very well for her.

DH saw this one, and he replied: