Hello, I'm new to this thread

20andpregnant

Mum to one :)
Reaction score
My LO was born at 34 + 5 days on Monday. He weighted 4 pounds 14 and had problems with his breathing and has been in neonatal care since.
Obviously I didn't prepare for this and I'm feeling emotions I didn't know existed!
The hospital are being amazing but I want my baby! I feel so alone atm and confused to what I should be doing with baby and what is actually happening :/
Does this get easier? I cry every time I see him. :cry:

My LO was born at 34 + 5 days on Monday. He weighted 4 pounds 14 and had problems with his breathing and has been in neonatal care since.
Obviously I didn't prepare for this and I'm feeling emotions I didn't know existed!
The hospital are being amazing but I want my baby! I feel so alone atm and confused to what I should be doing with baby and what is actually happening :/
Does this get easier? I cry every time I see him. :cry:

Congratulations on the birth of your baby!

My baby was born at 28 weeks & 6 days. The NICU was a roller-coaster of emotions, but it DOES get easier. I cried each time I saw my baby too, but you'll feel so much better once he starts progressing. :hugs:

Is he on oral feeds yet?

First of all congrats!!

My LO was also born last week at 35 weeks gestation. I was lucky as this was something i knew was coming for a couple of weeks so i had time to prepare emotionally. Even so i cry every time i see her and im feeling less of a mother since i cant be with her all day. It does get easier day by day but im sure that until we take our babies home we will feel like half a person.

Hi, and congratulations!
Yes it does get easier. You're right - no-one prepares you for what might happen if your baby is going to arrive early. If you didn't have time to prepare you are probably in some kind of shock. I was for quite a while, and couldn't stop crying each time I went near my baby, or even at random other times when I was nowhere near him.