Indoor cat vet visits

feedindy

Reaction score
I have an indoor cat (never ever goes outside).
He got his vaccinations as a kitten and has been fixed.

Since then he has never been to the vet (he is 13 years old).

I know they say go for yearly check ups, but I don't go to the doctor unless I am ill, so I follow the same for the cat.

So honestly, do you go to the vet for general checkups for a cat?

Our indoor cat gets her yearly shots and that is all. Just for the in case scenario that she did get out at some point we want her to be protected.

I'm biased, since I work in the veterinary field, but I have 3 cats and they all get vaccines annually. I also get heavily discounted veterinary care...so I can't promise that I would be so loyal if I were paying full price.

I go every year for vaccinations... I'm actually due to go with them now - just have been so busy recently so got pushed to the back of the list! I'll go aswell if they are sick but that only ever happens very occassionally.

i see you are in pa hun- i'm in md. i know the vaccine stuff because i used to work at a clinic for 5 years.

You need to read up on your RABIES laws. Because, you should at least have that. If for some reason your cat ever bit someone- or someone just SAID they got bit (seriously some people are freaking nasty) they could take your cat away from you.

It's a 10 day quarantine for cat that HAS their shots. Its 6 months of a double caged cell for a cat without their shots. And the health dept gets VERY involved. Now that's here in md- but, i'm pretty sure pa is a bit worse than us. I remember we got some pa clients because they didn't like the strictness of some of their vets. We had one that the cat bit the owner and then they took him to the vet and they took the freaking cat away and locked him up there and quarantined him.