Newbie...HI, Im considering a home birth (1st baby)

Lotti1978

MC @7 weeks-Angel Oct09
Reaction score
HI

I saw a MW on sunday and we got talking about home births.

Ive always fancied a water birth at home even before we started trying for a baby.
A few ppl have scared me saying I shouldnt with my first in case something goes wrong.

Ive been looking into it, my MW says my pgcy is 'straight forward' enough so will be fine. I am also pretty close to the maternity hospital even when I move house....approx 9 miles?!

Anyway, any tips or thoughts, it will be my 1st birth!

Im a trained alternative therapist so love my relaxing cds, candles and essential oils in the burner......I love my home and feel very chilled and happy to be there.

I need to research pain relief though as Id like gas, air and maybe a back up if needed like pethadine. No epidural...so I say!

:hi: and welcome.
Im also a newbie.
Second baby; first home birth though.
x

I had a home water birth and Alex is my first baby. I'd say you're half way there with all your experience with relaxtion as I'm convinced that's what helped me through my labour. I've never been scared of birth, so I think if you go into it with a positive attitude, then your experience should be a positive one too. The only other pain relief I had was a TENS machine which worked brilliantly for me (see my birth story below). Your hospital sounds near enough that you'd be able to get there in plenty of time in an emergency.

BTW, you can't have an epidural at home as this needs to be administered by an anaesthetist. If you transferred to hospital and you did need an epidural, you wouldn't be able to labour or birth in the pool either. x