Not really sure what to do

Angel2Fire

Reaction score
I've got my first appointment with my midwife on tuesday, and want to actually be able to say what I want at the appointment.

I'm very conflicted. I had a c-section with my little boy because he was breech. The consultant said its likely to run in the family as all my mums kids were also breech.

At the beginning I'd wanted a homebirth but was told I wouldn't be able to because I have chronic fatigue syndrome and was put under a consultant (how this makes me any higher risk I don't know, but I just did what I was told.)

There were no problems in the pregnancy apart from my son being breech and I have heard since that its possible to have a natural birth even with a breech (but at the time I was just told I'd have to have a c-section.)

I really don't know what to do. I've had some traumatic experiences in hospitals. I suffer from mental health problems and have had some particularly difficult times, especially in the local A&E. One nurse actually got me arrested for assault for splashing her with a drink after she'd really wound me up and accused me of being drunk and said some pretty nasty and harsh stuff to me. They now have it on my records at that hospital that I'm violent and abusive (which I'm really not!) I'm terrified of having to go to that A&E again, or that hospital in general.
I had some pretty upsetting experiences on the maternity ward when I had my son as well.

I think I might have the option of another hospital (which is a half an hour drive away) but I know people who have had bad experiences in that maternity unit too.

I guess my dilema is that if I ask for a homebirth, it will be the local midwives I see, and in the event that I did have to go to hospital it would be the local one. I can't see that they'd let me be under the other hospital for a homebirth if the midwives would have to come such a long way.