Sewing machines for beginners

mumandco

Reaction score
Can anyone recommend a sewing machine for an absolute beginner please.

Also any tips would be gratefully recieved :)

I'm a beginner too, and didn't want to spend crazy amounts on one at first. I went with this one https://www.hobbycraft.co.uk/hobbycraft-multi-stitch-sewing-machine/569488-1000

It's a bargain and I'm loving it so far!

That's really cheap!
What sort of things are you doing with it?

Well I use reusable wetwipes so just planning on making some of them,maybe a pillow case or 2 for the boys. Just crafty bits for the children really

I'm a beginner too, and didn't want to spend crazy amounts on one at first. I went with this one https://www.hobbycraft.co.uk/hobbycraft-multi-stitch-sewing-machine/569488-1000

It's a bargain and I'm loving it so far!

That looks fab,what kind of things are you using it for if you don't mind me asking? My oh is a am I reluctant as am I to spend a lot really just incase it ends up gathering dust

I was going to suggest Hobby Craft as I recently saw it in the shop.

I too want to start doing little bits so I am asking my parents to get me a sewing machine for my birthday then Mum can teach me how to make some bits!!

The ikea one £45 is supposed to have really good reviews but I live miles away from one :/ and would only be worth my while to go up if I was getting other things, of course once there id end up buying half the store which is half the reason I don't want to go haha

Depends what you want it for, if the most you'll ever do on it is a bit of bunting then go for a cheap one.