Sigh.....rant? In need of encouragement?? Idk....

kajastarlight

Number 3 on the way!
Reaction score
Baby is 27 hours old. We just spent the last 6 hours cluster feeding. (Still at it) my nipples hurt, I am tired, and my milk is not in. Baby is pooping and peeing but I am worried. (As we all are at this point) Considering a supplement. Would it be so horrid to give her a few ml of formula?

No it wouldn't be horrid at all, but please remember milk typically won't come in for 3-5 days so you are well within the normal range, so it isn't necessary at this point most likely (I am not a medical professional). It's likely your babe is getting colostrum right now which should be plenty. The cluster feeding is completely normal and is what will help bring your milk in. :hugs:

Thank you, Twinky, it's so hard when she is so very tiny and I want to fatten her up! Lol I am glad she is cluster feeding and she has good wees and is pooping meconium still so I will hold off on the supplement. But I think I will ring the LC to get a weight check and make sure all is well.

Thank you, Twinky, it's so hard when she is so very tiny and I want to fatten her up! Lol I am glad she is cluster feeding and she has good wees and is pooping meconium still so I will hold off on the supplement. But I think I will ring the LC to get a weight check and make sure all is well.

Weight check wont tell you much as at this young age it is normal/expected to loose weight. Poo and wee will tell you more. In the second 24 hours you want the meconium to be turning from black to very dark green and by day three to be a sludgy colour, day 4 toffee brown and day 5 mustard. Not every baby gets this schedule exactly, but it wants to be moving in this direction. If poos aren't mustard by day 7 then that is a concern.