Starting to worry about birth..

Jewel07

Reaction score
I know this is probably on every mums mind, but I'm 29 weeks tomorrow and the realisation is setting in that I gotta get this baby out- and it's gonna be soon! I've never been one to be very good with pain, and the idea of imagining the most excruciating pain I've ever felt is keeping me awake at night. I want this baby more than anything but I'm so so scared. What if I can't do it or cope with the pain?! I feel like a failure before I start. Hubby is being supportive and saying just coz I'm not good with physical pain who knows what ill be like at birth I could surprise everyone?! But I'm not so sure! I'm afraid I'm just gonna be a screaming crying mess and I can't do it!! :-(

You can do it!! Labour is unlike anything else. It is painful for most women but its a productive pain- you know its going to end and you are going to get the most amazing gift at the end of it. Imagine how much easier it'd be to cope with a broken arm knowing it would only hurt for a few hours ad you'd get a million £'s at the end :haha:.
Don't forget you can have pain relief if you need it, and there are things you can do to help prepare and empower you, such as hypnobirthing. You'll do great!
P.S I'm a 2nd time mummy and SO excited for giving birth! :)

You'll cope.

I cried having my ears pierced at the age of 25 and only let the girl do one ... I had my LO with no pain relief last year and am going back in for round two!

No matter how much you worry, once you're in labour you'll be so caught up in the moment that you don't have chance to think about anything other than just getting on with it ... Then you get a super cute baby after, bonus!x

Giving birth really bloody hurts but it is like no pain that you can imagine, not because its that horrifically painful but because it is not the same kind of pain.