Teething in Premmies..

stepmum

Oliver's Mummy
Reaction score
Do we count this in the possible delays?

Oliver seems to be hitting things at his corrected age rather than actual age so only a couple of months behind but it feels like he's been teething forever now, I feel so bad for him sometimes. Still no teeth at almost 8 months actual, no white spots, no bumpys when I feel his gums, nothing. :nope:

I know teething ages in babies is generally quite widespread anyway and I was reading up and it seems it does quite often occur later in premmies. I thought I'd ask on here for some first hand experience. Are the odds higher that he'll be a late teether? The doctor said he was teething when he was about 4 months old so we've been waiting almost 4 months now.

I'm a dentist and did do a post on this a while back - I'll see if I can find it and bump it up for you x

I think teeth will vary. Holly got her first teeth at 8 months actual. By about 20 months she had 16 teeth. The 4 molars at the back are still not through but def think they are on their way and she will be 26 months actual next week.

I have no idea whether that is along her actual or corrected age for getting her teeth as it was never something I looked into.

My twins are almost 4 months, 9 weeks corrected. And are having teething symptoms. Drooling, wanting to chew on everything!
I was shocked, my oldest didn't get her first tooth until 14 months.

Alex has a tooth coming in already! Just goes to show it can happen any time!

Hi there

We were waiting for teeth for ages. Oliver has just got his two front bottom teeth at 14 months, 11 corrected. Which is great as he is eating so much better with them. However we do know other premmies who got their teeth at 6 and seven months so i do think it varies depending on the child.