Those who hemorrhaged with their first

butterflywolf

Reaction score
Okay I know I'm not technically here yet, but figured this would be best suited here.

Anyway, long story short, my daughter (first baby) was a whooper. 9 lbs 3 oz AND 22 inches. No GD during pregnancy either. She also hid real well cause I always measured on to maybe a week ahead. Doctor said he was expecting an 8 pound at most.
Well as soon as I had her, I hemorrhaged, bad. 2 liters of blood lost. My uterus just would not clamp down it was too exhausted. It was nearing to the point of a blood transfusion AND taking out my uterus if it didn't stop within the next minute or so. It was bad.

So I was just wondering those who did have a bad hemorrhage with their first, did you hemorrhage again with any of your other pregnancies? If this is your second baby after a hemorrhage are you worried about it happening again?

I had a postpartum hemorrhage losing 4 litres of blood 10 days after I gave birth so I don't know if the same applies. But my midwife said they will treat my actual birth as higher risk and will monitor me for the 4-6 hours after but after that I'll be treated as any other new mum. Which I understand as I can't be closely monitored for 10 days, but it definitely doesn't stop me worrying!:nope: But I can't help you with 'will it happen again' experience as this is my second, but my midwife doesn't seem to think there is much increased risk with me previously having a hemorrhage:flower:

My mother did with me (I was only around 6 lbs but she did had GD), and almost died. She went on to have two normal vaginal births with no complications with my younger siblings.

Good luck! :hugs:

Do you know if subchronic hemorrhages during pregnancy causes this during labor?

With my first, I had a home birth with a 6 lb baby girl and hemorrhaged due to a very long labour. I lost over a litre of blood and thankfully didn't need a transfusion, but recovery was tough.