where did my milk go?

amurray

Reaction score
so the last couple of days i feel like my supply has really dropped.. i tried to start pumping again in order to freeze milk as well but can only pump MAYBE 2 ounces at a time.... It has probably been at least a month since I pumped regularly but i could get like 5 or 6 ounces at a time from one breast. My boobs just seem deflated... for lack of a better word. The baby doesn't seem like she is starving though but I am worried that my supply is going away. My daughter is not quite 4 months old yet and still wakes once at night to feed.

Anyone else experience this? Or have tips to increase supply?:nope:

I've been BF my first for four months as well (so I'm no expert) I bet your body is just getting more efficient (for lack of a better word) and producing less excess. 5-6 ounces from one boob is a lot of milk… way more than you probably needed. If baby is happy, gaining weight and having 5-6 wet diapers a day you're fine. Call the pediatrician for a weight check if your really concerned, but I bet your body is just settling in!

I can not pump, unless I pump every day. When I was pumping once a day I could pump a full feed. But as soon as I miss a couple days I can barely get an ounce. And although I have no supply issue with baby, even after pumping an ounce I can not feed him after!! No idea why??? So now I never pump.

thanks!! makes me feel better to know i am not alone... i guess i will keep pumping maybe once a day just to stock up a little freezer supply for the times when someone else may be watching her. maybe after a while ill be able to pump more:flower:

I was invited to a friends birthday party, and she wrote it was adults only, I can't go because there is no way I can get enough milk to leave my son!