2nd degree perenial tear - 1st birth

Mrs Doddy

1 pink 1 blue
Reaction score
Will my previous tear cause any problems with my next birth ? P

I had a 3rd degree tear with ds. Ive been offered a c-section this time if I want it. With my tear ive been told the chance of it happening again are not that much different to my chance the first time, but if I did have such a severe tear again the chance of long term problems are more likely. From my understanding a 2nd degree is not such a worry but if you tore with your first they may decide to cut you with your second to help prevent it happening again as a cut heals better than I tear. But im no expert, if your worried id talk to your midwife and see what she says.

ooowwww I hope not , I don't like the sound of that - I will def speak to the mw - they would numb me first tho right ?

Hiya. I had a 3rd degree tear with my daughter. I'm 20 weeks pregnant now. My midwife asked me how I felt about the birth and if I thought about delivery. The outcome of this is closer to the time I will get checked and if baby is measuring big/bigger than daughter I will have a section....which will be likely. She did say that it wasn't common for it to happen again but if I chose vaginal birth then they will keep a close eye and any problems then the will section me. The reason for tearing was she got stuck and heart rate dipping so they rushed me to theatre and needed to get her out so was emergency forcep birth.
Hospital and midwife are not pushing one way or another.

A friend of mine had a HORRIBLE tear with her first (like mega scary tear). Anyway, her second she had vaginal birth and massive baby and tear was only 2nd degree (he he he ... only :wacko:). I had 2nd degree with DS but not overly worried about it... each pregnancy and delivery is different!