• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

3rd percentile and absent nasal bone

Stephytiggs

Reaction score
Level 2 scan today revealed twin two is on the 3rd percentile, had an absent nasal bone and restricted blood flow through the placenta. Two small holes in her heart were also detected.

The consultant is saying it's highly likely a chromosomal issue.

Does anyone have any experience or can help me out? We have been told to expect our baby girl to not be with us in the next couple of weeks...

I have no personal experience but just from symptoms it sounds like it could be trisomy 18 or 21?
Will you have an amino to find out more info?
I'm so very sorry for you and your sweet baby girl. I hope the doctors can get you the help you both need.

I have no personal experience but just from symptoms it sounds like it could be trisomy 18 or 21?
Will you have an amino to find out more info?
I'm so very sorry for you and your sweet baby girl. I hope the doctors can get you the help you both need.

Hi hun. If she's still here at 28 weeks I'll have the amnio, they won't do it before then in case it sends me into labour. Ive researched both, baby has no other symptoms so I'm pretty sure it's not 18, I'm praying that it would be 21 cous I know she can survive through that!! Xx

No experience , just wanted to send hugs to you!!! I'm sorry you are going through this and I hope you are able to stay strong and positive.
My friend was told her son had no nasal bone and said he had other markers for trisomy 18/21.. he also was not growing. She ended up having to deliver him in emcs, and he ended up with no chromosomal abnormalities... her placenta just wasn't working well which caused all the issues..