? about breastmilk after m/c

Reaction score
Hey Ladies,

question about breast milk after m/c.....

DH and I lost our LO Jan. 30th of this year due to pre term labor at 14 weeks. I noticed clear stuff leaking from my breast about a week later. I wore tight sports bras and made sure not to stimulate them. I have experienced my first period (feb 25) after our loss and today marks 7 weeks from 01/30. I thought the fluid had dried up after my period bc that weird feeling went away and I haven't noticed any fluid leaking in the last two weeks.

However, the last 2 days I have noticed the fluid has returned. I recently ovulated, could that have anything to do with it? How long did it take your "milk" to dry up? What did it look like? At first the fluid was clear to cloudy white. Now it looks a little yellowish, which worries me. No odor. I am a nurse so I am probably over analyzing the whole appearance thing, sorry. And my hubby and I didn't use any protection this month. So I am secretly hoping this may be a hopeful sign for a rainbow baby :)

Thanks ladies, and Happy Mother's day to those celebrating today!!!!! (ours isn't until May here in the states)

sorry...I can't really help you. They gave me a pill to take after birth, which stopped my milk coming in, so I didn't get anything at all, thankfully.

I hope someone else can give you an answer...(actually, I hope it's a sign of a rainbow, that would be wonderful!) :hugs:

xx

Hi there, I'm not sure really - my milk did come in, with a vengeance, but once it was gone, it was gone. I would say yellow is colostrum, the first milk, so wouldn't worry about the colour, it's not a sign of infection unless your breasts are hot or have painful lumpy bits (usually round the sides) which would be from engorgement, but you'd know about it if you had that, it's damn sore.