Advice for first timer?

bumblebeexo

Reaction score
Hi, my 2nd baby is due to arrive in 6 weeks by c-section. My DD was formula fed from birth, so I have no experience with breast feeding at all. What advice would you give to somebody who is thinking to try it? I'm really determined to feed myself this time!

Thanks! :kiss:

sorry can't offer any help, following in hope that i might find out the answers too :) xx:flower:

My ds had to go to the nicu for 5 days and they fed him formula without checking with me. I was so worried I'd have difficulty getting him to bf, but luckily I didn't! However it took my supply longer to come in and I had super engorged boobs most of the time bc I didn't know how often to be pumping. So, god forbid, if your LO has to go to the nicu, make sure they know u want to bf and make sure they don't give formula if u don't want them to
Other than that, find someone supportive that will encourage u to keep going when things r tough in the beginning and u feel like u want to quit. The ladies in here r great for that too ;)
Good luck! And remember it does get easier. I had raw, bleeding nipples at one point but somewhere around 3 months all the issues stopped and it became the easiest thing ever!

My advice is to read as much as you can about it beforehand. Breastfeeding was the single thing I was most unprepared for. I thought you just stuck baby on boob and that was it. KellyMom has some good advice.

Know that it will be super painful for a few weeks, but grit your teeth, power through, and once the pain stops, it will be your favorite thing about having a baby!

Read about all of the common problems that you can run into while breastfeeding (bad latch, mastitis, thrush, etc.) so that you can recognize them and know how to fix them.