Advice needed about my 7 year old son...

ljw1980

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to this web site but am at my wits end over my 7 year old son and would appreciate some advice.

My son has always been a very independant, happy child until a couple of months ago when he began to have issues being alone in the house. The problem started with him beginning to be afraid to sleep alone at night. He would cry and work himself up to the point where he was hysterical and would tell us he was scared of burglars breaking into the house. We tried the usual methods of reassuring him, sitting with him until he fell asleep and trying to support him in these new fears but none of them have worked. It got to the point where he was choosing to sleep on the floor in our bedroom in a sleeping bag rather than be in his room alone.

The problem then escalated to the point where he now follows us around the house as he is too scared to be alone. He will follow me up to the toilet, the shower, will sit for hours un-occupied and bored just so that he doesnt have to be in a room on his own. When we try and make him spend some time on his own there are usually tears and he will resort back to these worries about burglars and sometimes ghosts. It is getting increasingly frustrating and also I am convinced that at times he is simply saying these things just as an excuse to be following us round.

I am divorced so my son spends time at his dads house on a weekend and during the week. When he is at his dads he never voices these worries or issues, is happy to play outside on his own, in his bedroom and will go to sleep every night with no problems. This tells me that his worries go deeper than 'burglars and ghosts' as surely if this was the case he would be scared of them wherever he was.