Anyone's work giving them anxiety while TTC?

ellavisions

Reaction score
Beginning to TTC #2. My DD just turned 5.
I work as a PSW (some places that's a nursing aide) in a retirement home.
During my first pregnancy I was so sick
Nausea constantly and vomiting 7-8 times a day.

I really want to be fully committed to this but I'm not looking forward to the nausea. During my first pregnancy I was especially sensitive to smells. Unfortunately there are MANY strong smells in my retirement home (feces, urine, body odor) and I'm not sure how I'm going to handle it.

I guess I'm just looking for some insight.

glad to hear I'm not alone with worrying about that! I work in academic research and am currently between jobs, so I'm *very* worried how long it is going to take until I find my next position and what they would say if I got pregnant shortly after... With these projects, it's often impossible or very difficult to replace someone, but I don't want to wait till I'm 40 to start trying :(
I've already made commitments until July and planning TTC for late march/april. If I have a difficult pregnancy, I might not be able to fulfill those and that would be very badly received... so you're definitely not alone in worrying about this! I though about it long and hard and I just want a baby so badly, I decided my work life is either going to fit around it/accept it, or I'll have to look into starting a new career path in another area after.

I am currently in limbo at the office - i was just told about getting a promotion. My problem is actually twofold:
1. If I get it, it would mean a lot of extra responsibilities and stress... might make ttc more difficult
2. If i take the promotion and i get pregnant, I will probably not be able to do the job properly during pregnancy or after birth (it also might involve travelling at short notice).