Best time of year to get married in the uk?

MissR

R+R+J+Dot
Reaction score
Hi all, I've never posted on this section before as we've been too pre occupied raising LO to even think about getting married. We have been engaged 2 and a bit years and have now decided 2018 is the year :) a bit far away but it's nice to know when it will be.

Just wondering what time of year is best to get married in the uk? I would ideally like sun sun sun! I know uk weather is very unpredictable so I'm just looking for experiences of your own wedding dates really!

Also, how long in advance would we need to book a venue? I'm hoping for a stately home wedding so I'm thinking it would need to be waaayyy in advance? I'm new at this so have no idea!

Thanks xxxx

I think a summer wedding is best. So I'd go for June to late August time.

There's no harm asking way in advance about booking a nice venue. It's surprising how far these places have bookings confirmed.

Try to get as much organised and booked ASAP. We left it a bit late, as we didnt want to wait any longer, and couldn't get a photographer in time!

Congrats!

I would probably want to start booking around 2015/16. We are getting married the week before schools break up as it is ALWAYS sunny that weekend and then starts raining as soon as school breaks for summer. :happydance::happydance:

If you want sun then go between June - Aug obviously. But don't be too upset if it does actually rain!! I'm actually having a winter wedding - in February and I think it will be lovely at that time of year but it all depends on what you want. Places do get booked up in advance but remember if you have a week day wedding (or one out of season) then you may get discounts from some places xx