BF help

marley2580

Reaction score
It's been almost two weeks now and my nipples are killing me. I don't think that we're getting the latch right, particularly on the left side. I'm going to get some help with that, but what should I do in the mean time? She threw up this morning and I realised I'd been bleeding again. Should I get some nipple shields until things heal? Should I give one side a rest until it heals? I feel as if I should let some air get to the nipples (am using breast pads), but as soon as I unhook my bra I start pouring everywhere :blush: Anyone got any advice?

I would get some nipple sheilds hun. I dont know a great deal about them but at my parent craft classes the midwives were singing there praises about how much releif they do actually give you in the short term

Obviously im no expert as I havent even had my baby yet let alone breast fed but i guess there worth a try and it stops baby being directly onto the nipple.

I have found this. It dosent sing praises like the midwives did but I suppose a may give you an insight. If you're worried about using them contact your Health Visitor

https://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/breastfeeding/problemsandsolutions/nippleshieldsexpert/

Sorry I cant be of any more help X

Hi Marley

Yes the nipple shields should help to give your nipples a bit of time to heal. Just be careful to only use them for the bare minimum of time as they can reduce your milk supply and also your baby might not latch on properly after using them. I used them for about 24 hours and they were great and suffered no ill effects.

Your milk will settle down, it wont always be spraying everywhere (at which point you'll probably be worrying about your supply!) but to give them time to heal do let the air get to them, even if you hold a muslin by you to catch the milk