Braxton hicks

Holly ttc

Reaction score
Since this is my first successful pregnancy I have no real knowledge on...well... Anything. Just curious when/if you started experiencing braxton hicks contractions and what they felt like. I don't feel like I'm having them or anything, just more trying to prepare for if they do happen. :)

I started getting braxton hicks at 20 weeks in my first pregnancy and I'm already feeling them now at 14 weeks in my second pregnancy. For me they are not painful really, it's just a weird tightening sensation. They feel worse as you get bigger though, but will go away with a change of position like walking/sitting down. I know some people don't get them at all so you might be lucky!

I'm the same as sunnydee mine have never really been painful (with DD or the few I've had this pg). Just a tight sensation across my bump.

Same as PPs. I got them off and on the first time, particularly in the last few weeks. They didn't hurt—just noticeable tightening across my belly. It would feel rock-hard for a minute, then get soft again. I was aware of them, but not inconvenienced. Much different from labour contractions.

Thanks, ladies! I'm at 25 weeks right now so I figured it would be a good idea to ask so I could explain to my poor dh if I say I feel submerging different like this he shouldn't worry.

I don't even remember what they "feel" like? I've never had this strong enough to remember. Every once in awhile I get a pulling/pressure senstation but I never know if that's BH or baby :haha: